Review and Giveaway: “No Bake Baking” by Sharon Hearne Smith

Sometimes a book just screams at you. In my case, it’s usually a cookbook.

Sharon Hearne Smith knows all about cookbooks, she’s been styling and testing them for years for others, and now the stylish Wexford woman has finally put her own name on the outside of a book and her own unique style throughout. And as if that wasn’t enough, the photos are taken by Donal Skehan, Ireland’s kitchen hero, it’s a match made in heaven.

20140622-222615.jpg
That’s my hand on my book

This book is different. As the title infers, it’s a baking book without ovens. No dinners here, this is all about sweet treats. The oven avoiding methods involved include blending, melting, sticking together and lots of gelatine leaves. Recipes aside, and they are all divine, the photos are just gorgeous. You’ll be turning the pages salivating.

I’ve long been a fan of melting recipes, and ones for fridge set cakes and desserts. I think for the inexperienced baker they’re easier to get right, but Sharon brings them to a whole new level, with lots of new ideas. There are also lots of unusual ingredients too- cheats even, a shop bought ginger cake, some Oreos, all pre-baked so you don’t have to, and producing amazing results.

In fact, the book is so appealing that my five year old sat down one Saturday morning and completely unprompted wrote a list of all the things that he wants to make out of the book. It’s pretty long, see.

20140622-222603.jpg

We crossed off the Doughnut cake pops (very, very moreish) and are ready to move on to the next recipe, I’m hoping for the Green Goddess Pannacotta Pie, but it might be something simpler, like some no bake cookies.

20140622-222550.jpg
Our doughnut cake pops (we didn’t have sticks)

It’s the perfect summer cookbook, no ovens and lots of fruit, lovely cool desserts and treats.

It’s also ideal to get the kids involved, if ever a job was made for child bakers it’s biscuit bashing.

The Strawberry Charlottte looks magnificent, and is highly placed on our list of things to make next. Except the boys have decided that it’s to be made when their soon to be auntie comes to visit, since “her name is sort of like Charlotte”. We’re going to have to invite her soon, as that cake demands to be made, and strawberries are in season.

Giveaway

This household loves this book, and now you have the chance to own it too as I HAVE ONE TO GIVE AWAY!

Quercus publishers, who sent me my review copy are also giving me a copy of Sharon Hearne Smith’s “No Bake Baking” to give away to one lucky blog reader. To enter just click on the rafflecopter link below. The winner will be picked at random on Friday 27th June. Remember to share with anyone who might like to win. Entries are limited to UK and Irish addresses. GOOD LUCK!

** The competition has now ended. Congratulations to Lorraine McGuinness – check your inbox Lorraine!

 

 

28 thoughts on “Review and Giveaway: “No Bake Baking” by Sharon Hearne Smith

  1. After seeing the feature in the independent weekender a few weeks back, I bought the book the day it came out. The Oreo doughnut cake pops were the 1st thing we made too. Or I should say my 3 1/2year old made I only set up the food processor.
    The white chocolate and raspberry tarts are amazing too. It is a fab book for making sweet treats with kids. Eat the bowl puds are on our to make list at the weekend.

  2. My favorite recipe is making Peanut butter nutbars
    1 cup of dates
    1 cup of roasted peanuts
    sometimes a drop of vanilla essense
    all in a blender then rollinto cookies and put them in the fridge

    or
    1 cup of dates
    1 cup of almounds
    1 tablespoon of coconut oil
    1 cup of coconut flour
    again all in a blender then fridge πŸ˜€

  3. I need this book in my life! Big fan of the no bake – I am an experience tiffin maker – it is my speciality! Fingers crossed πŸ™‚ xx

  4. Oh charlotte is my favourite! My mum used to always make me one for my birthDay! Sounds like a great book

  5. I had forgotten about charlottes ! Used to bake this with my sister as a kid. Am easy recipe to make a tasty nice-looking cake !

Leave a Reply

